Age of Empires - What do you expect from the game?

Hello clan, all right? Well I’m new to the insider community, but would I like to sabre what you expect from the game? :slight_smile:

I expect a working, smooth and polished definitive edition of Age of Empires… Seriously.

I would like to be able to have the option of listening to the original soundtrack as well - because nostalgia.

With all the latest happenings, my expectations have narrowed - Was hoping for the scenario editor to get a big rework as that (imo) wouldn’t effect the old-school feel anyway as it isn’t gameplay that’s being effected. However, that’s a big ask when the basic mechanics arn’t even ready yet, let alone polished. Would be unrealistic of me to batter on about that at this stage.

@“Helios Ra” said:

" I would like to be able to have the option of listening to the original soundtrack as well - because nostalgia."

Well, that’s what I’d like. :smiley:

To drive my enemies before me

I expect quality and smooth performance with minimal bugs. I expect it not to crash and the path finding to be top notch. I expect free multiplayer on the PC and nostalgic concepts that make AoE franchise shine. The last and final thing I expect is a reason to move away from the previous games of the fanchise, so I actually have a reason to buy into AoE IV.

Expectations: The same gameplay and features as AOE I & II, with a modern twist, more realistic buildings, more civilizations, updated real world maps, updated and upgraded military options with a bigger selection of warriors. Archers need to have more power and range. This will increase the amount of strategies players can have while attacking and defending. How about the option to pave brick roads? or construct bridges? Bigger mountains?

I expect this to be nothing like AOE III which was horrendous. Nothing too fancy that will drive the new game too far from the original AOE I & II

@“Helios Ra” said: