AI cheating allowed

I open this thread searching your comments of course.
I usually play this game in sp campaigns to know new scenarios and new histories of the past.
I prefer a game in security and no rush victory.
At extreme level I played many games vs AI with success but with no doubt I saw cheats.

I accept that AI skills improve about:
military tactics;
tech strategy;
acknowledge about units, buildings or maps;
the generals can be stronger ones;
but it’s enough.

I think that:
TC must have same time to create inhabitants;
the knight must explore like mine to reveal the map;
the inhabitants or fish ships must collect as mine (if not improving the technology);
the population limit must be real and respected with no shortcut in technology tree.

Yes, I’m a noob since 20y in MS games, but I loved them anyway; sure honour and medals to their pro players.

The AI in the definitive edition does not cheat. It plays by the same game rules as the player. It does not gain any extra resources either. The AI does actually explore the map. If you play a game against the AI on explored, you can actually cheese the AI by grabbing some of his sheep before the AI finds his own sheep.

On the other hand, in Campaigns… there can be scenarios where the AI simply has unlimited resources, or instantaneously spawns units, because the map script declares it – but that’s a map editor trigger type of thing, not the AI script itself.

4 Likes

im always suprised how often people claim this. THE AI DOES NOT CHEAT. the extreme AI playes at the skill level of an average player and nothing more. if you feel that the ai is cheating it says more about your skill then it does about the ai

The AI cheats in only one way: it knows your population and the size of your military.

3 Likes