AoE4 is amazing, but I'm afraid to try out the older games

I started playing AoE4 basically immediately after launch because I saw it while scrolling through the PC Gamepass. I love it so much that I was playing it for hours and hours a day for a couple weeks after its release. I’ve been awaiting the custom maps and mods ever since, but I’ve been thinking recently about how I haven’t tried any of the older ones. When I started thinking about it though, I became worried they might ruin my opinion of the new one. Not trying to sound like an intimidated little kid here, but to be fair that’s completely what it sounds like. So in everyone’s honest opinion should I go back and try out the other ones? Or maybe a different RTS game similar to the AoE games?

You all have my thanks for swift replies, and your advice has been well received! :heart:

1 Like

I believe they all have their strengths and weaknesses and that you should try the older ones, I don’t believe they will taint your view of this one.

I realize a lot of us here seem like we hate this iteration and reference the older ones a lot, it’s not that we (or most of us at least) think age 4 is bad, we just are trying to help development via (hopefully) constructive criticism for the development team to go off of.

I think it’d be good for you to see a lot of these things older players are talking about, maybe you’ll end up agreeing with some of our takes.

But either way, all age games are well worth any time spent playing them

Edit: idk about age online tho don’t quote me there

5 Likes

I would certainly recommend that you check out other games in the series not only because they are fun but you’ll have a better understanding on what bits in Age of Empires IV were inspired by previous entries in the franchise.

9 Likes

in eao2 you lock yourself in with buildings, the castles are very strong, you don’t win for sacred sites. i prefer the age4 the above is obsolete.

1 Like