Hardware guide and tips

Hello,

I have had the privilege to run the game on several computers to test things out and see what gives better performance. Contrary to popular believe, you don’t need a high end system to run AOE2DE. You do need to run a well oiled system so to speak, where the most important thing is not so much hardware specs, but removing bottlenecks between the hardware.

Note that developers are still working on optimizations. Even if you have tried everything with your current hardware and still get low performance, chances might be a future update brings solace. I can’t promise that, I am not a developer but an enthousiast, but rest assured the developer team is trying to bring the best experience to everyone.

I advice if you are applying these tips, to always run the game with Fraps. This way you’ll get an objective representation if what you did made an improvement.

===CPU===
The CPU is rather straight forward. The game runs off a single core. So whether your CPU is a Core2duo or a 9900K is not immediately a performance differentiator, because the game will run off a single core. That being said, having 4 cores is somewhat advisable. Your PC allocates resources to your cores. More cores means it can offload workload of other programes the core the game runs on, and move it to different cores. Even though the game only runs on one core, the workload can shift to a different core on a snap.