How can knights be balanced at one pop/supply?

To disclaim, I am by no means an expert player, and I’m as much posting this to find out why I am wrong as to prove to you that I’m right

Obviously knights, particularly Royal Knights, are quite controversial at the moment. It seems almost inevitable that this is going to lead to various nerfs once Relic starts patching the game, but I’m struggling a bit to see -how- these units can ever be balanced without a significant rethink. It’s one thing to balance them in the early game, but they are enormously far away from being balanced in the late game too.

Right now the immediate problem is that knights are too strong from a cost efficiency point of view. It is very hard to deal with knights for less than the cost of a knight, even if you know exactly what is coming your way. Their hard counters, spearmen and crossbowmen, can be built 3:1 and 2:1 respectively for the same cost, but actually fighting knights with those numbers leads to at best pyhrric victories. This seems at odds with the concept of a hard counter. If you end up in a battle where your opponent’s army is a hard counter to yours (e.g. you use a lot of knights and they use a mass of spears and crossbowmen) you shouldn’t simply lose you should be left in tatters. And that isn’t happening right now and that clearly needs to be addressed.

But even if the cost efficiency of knights was more reasonable, it wouldn’t get away from the equally serious problem that knights are much more pop efficient than the other core units. The other five core units (the archer, crossbowman, spearman, man-at-arms and horseman) cost 80, 120, 80, 120, and 120 resources respectively. The knight comes in at a massive 240, and that leads to a scenario where once you start pushing near population limits the knight becomes a no brainer unit even if it gets appropriately nerfed.