It's very bad that if you start a new ladder your rating on other ladders is used

• I (19xx) played some tgs with a irl friend who’s not very good at the game (no 1v1 played, would be way below 1000 for sure). These were placement games for him, so his tg rating soared to 16xx in just a handful of games. If he started playing 1v1 now he’d have to lose 50 games back to back to get to his true rating.
  • Indeed, every so often I ran into someone with 19xx tg rating just starting 1v1s, it’s not fun for anyone
  • It gets more ridiculous when someone with a high tg rating (3k+ or whatever) starts playing dm. Suddenly the highest rated dm player is a complete beginner who played one game (that literally happened before)
  • The big problem is of course the broken tg ladder with its super inflated ratings. But even if all the ladders had comparable ratings I don’t really see why rm tg should transfer to 1v1 dm…

Seriously, the tg ladder should be reset or something should be done to fix all this

7 Likes

I think the first game the person plays is still against someone around 1000 ELO. If he wins, then the system boosts him close to whatever his TG ELO is. If he loses, it should ignore his ELO.

I may be wrong. Read it somewhere, never tested.

1 Like

I can confirm this is not true. With a team ELO of 1400, I recently played 1st 1v1 ranked game, losing to a 930 ELO guy, and my starting ELO is 1256 :rofl:

1 Like

The correlation between the ladders is fine, if they had the same distribution. That is not the case and that is the real issue, because a bug in the TG calculation. That needs to be fixed.

Even if TG ELO has no issue, how do you objectively reflect a player’s 1v1 level, if all TG games he played are carried by his friends? I don’t think this dependency brings more convenience than hassle.

The starting rating is a rough estimation.