Let the AoE IV be the best game of the series, you will need

First of all,
Choose an interesting topic (period of history) which fits the style of gameplay mechanics already implemented in previous game.

Going to next military advancement will lead us to WW 1 or 2. This will add new gameplay mechanic such as planes (I could not imagine a game without them) and might increase the size of the level. Even though It might be possible to make it good, my heart is always in ancient times such as Roman Empire or Medieval. This is why I started playing AoE at all.

My suggestion of period:

Make a game where player has to choose continents, then regions and after 2 ages, he could choose a more specific country or empire which emerged in that time and region. This would let players experience periods of all previous AoE games in just one game. Times from 1000 B.C. till ~1860. This would UNITE ALL AGE OF EMPRIES FANS TO ONE GAME. But of course, it would bring some challenges, such as making a smooth transition and balance all the countries at different periods. I suggest making some strong at one age, while others at next ones (similarly as in AoE 3). Later on, leave options for players to lock and choose which age they want to start from. This would let aggressive players to play for their favourite civilizations (if developers still want to keep the game fast paced).

A more in-depth explanation:

First, pick up the continent:
Europe, Asia, America (natives) and perhaps Africa.
After that, pick empires which existed in a certain period of time, for example, in the starting period, let players choose between Roman Empire, Greeks (just for Sparta ;D), Ottoman Empire, Egpyt, Mongols and more.
Let them play for 2 ages, after that, let them choose specific empires or countries which existed in later times but in the same territory or close to it.