Re-imagining AoE II vs whole new game

I started playing AoE II HD edition again recently - talk about nostalgia! It made me remember why AoE II was the best in the series.

I think Relic, given their limited experience in the franchise, should consider re-imagining AoE II and the Middle ages, rather than a completely different game. I don’t mean a clunky graphics update like AoE: DE, but rather modernizing the game while keeping it’s core features. Change some things to give it a refresh

Things to keep the same

• Overall economic system and ages
  • Some of the old map styles (black forest, Arabia, oasis)
  • Same or similar civilizations (but can add new ones)
  • Same concepts of unique units and unique techs
  • Same or similar building types
  • Same resource types + relics + trade routes
  • Keep priests/monks

Things to change

• Redesign game engine and graphics to be 3D and for 2018, but keep far zoom levels and tidy visuals (i.e. not as visually complex as AoE III). AoE: DE is great but the engine is clunky. Add ability to rotate camera and zoom in
  • Environment: add seasons? rather than static maps; rivers can freeze over in winter, changing tactical situations. Add day and night??
  • Resources: mines can be in hillsides or subsurface (more “realistic” looking)
  • Combat: As mentioned in another post, make combat more realistic by giving formations added benefits; priests nearby make units tougher . Ranged units are more lethal but less accurate and easier to kill. Terrain and topography influence formations and unit abilities.
  • Combat AI: ranged units are smarter; they don’t just attack the closest unit by default - they attack units they are strong against first (e.g. skirmishers will target archers first).
  • Same pop limit as AoE II HD
  • More variety with maps. Aside from black forest, islands, Arabia, and oasis the other maps are all pretty much the same. Maybe add a map like Alps, or steppe. Also, HUGE maps. Like really really bigly maps