This game was the 1st ever game i played? How about you?

So i was 9 or 10 years old when I started playing age of empires and seeing this definitive edition being announced the strong feeling of nostalgia came flooding back and i am extremely excited to either join the closed beta or buy it because this is a definite day one for me.

So what ages did you play this game and what was your favorite memory?

This was probably the first game I ever played too, only I was around four years old.
That’s my favourite memory at the same time: my dad teaching me how to play the game and before I knew it I was hooked.

Yup, that’s why I’m so happy that they’re remaking this - though AoE4 could be amazing too fingers crossed - the memories are still in my mind, fifteen years later.

Same here, I was about 2-3 years old and all i could remember was bigdaddy.

Remember starting to play either AoE 1 or 2 when I was eight, before 9/11 happened. Still not that good at the game, but I did begin to play more AoE in general once AoE II HD was announced.

Think it is my third or forth game I played. The others being on Consoles before hand.

I remember it clearly; this was the second “real” game I ever owned. I was about 8 or 9 and had mostly played games like space invaders, centipede, 3-demon etc on my dads old non-dos non-windows computer. Then we got our first windows computer and my uncle gave me Microsoft Flight Simulator 95 for Christmas. The next year, again from my uncle, I got Age of Empires. It was great because my house finally became the go-to place for kids in my street, before that it had been the house of my ‘best friend / worst enemy’ and his dammed Nintendo that got all the attention.

This was also my first game, the one that made me a gammer for life, lol.

@"angrymonkeyllama " said: