Underwhelming Saracens?

So this is my first time posting and as a moderate long time player of the game. I can’t help but feel the Saracens are a little underwhelming (and pretty much always have been).
I just feel that their unique tech of “madrasah” is pretty irrelevant. Not to mention their overpriced and under powered unique unit.
Would it not be more historically accurate to have a bonus of increased fire rate to foot archers? (Say by 20/25%)?
I feel this would make them a much more effective team in the mid - late games.

madrasah definitely sucks, mamelukes are overpriced but not underpowered if you ask me.

Ethiopians already have this bonus.

4 Likes

I agree that their camel play feels a bit weak. But Saracens mostly played as an all-in castle age archer civ either way, atm. At least with a decent map, it can be very powerful civ because it’s basically impossible to both match their castle age and army. Even if they don’t rush to castle age but go fast feudal with 1 range they still can have a very good uptime. But it’s also risky, especially on the more open arabia generations after the map update probably not the greatest strat anymore.

Thing is, all-in archers with market abuse and booming are kind of mutually exclusive so you don’t see them going for camels oftentimes. Not sure, if balancing can do a lot here. Maybe nerfing the archer bonus dmg a little bit while buffing their camel options might do the job.

1 Like

I think killed Mamelukes needs to return 10 gold.

or just make them cost 10 less gold.

2 Likes

Yea I always wondered why Ethiopians had this 15% fire rate bonus. Surely they would benefit more from a unit speed bonus or less food cost since they are historically famous for high altitude running.
I struggle to find a solid use for the Mameluke when you can just load up on heavy camels with archers in Support.
Like I say I would class myself an average player. But just find the Scaries could do with a few tweaks to round them off.