Updated | 13-05-2020 | Features and Ideas | #101.101.36906.0_4941835

Hi, let me start by saying I’ve been playing aoe2 multiplayer for approximately 10 years already on quite a high level - currently 1v1: 15xx and TG: 23xx rating.
AoC, HD, Voobly, DE - I know them all. I am also familiar with Age of Empires 2 pro scene.
I’m amazed by recent progression of aoe2 and thankful to Definitive Edition team for listening to player base input.

The purpose of this topic is to give information to the team of developers which new features or feature changes could be implemented in order to improve players’ experience and capabilities in Definitive Edition.

Section of Features and Ideas:

1. Changing the way Box Formation works so the box itself is always filled even if it consists of only 1 kind of military unit (e.g. Cavalry Archers). Thanks to that ranged units would stay more compact instead of making a hollow ring. It would make this formation actually useful for bigger numbers of ranged units when micromanaging them.
    Originally Box Formation was intended to be a protective formation with fragile units in the middle against melee opponents. It would still fulfill its role and at the same time it could be used for micromanagement on the highest competitive level.
    Updated:
    Box formation should work in a way that when you click on the ground, the middle of the box settles there, not the front of the box. Would be much easier to control the box.
    The 1st attached picture shows a group of 18 Cav Archers standing in the most common and default “Line Formation”.
    In comparison the 2nd picture shows 8 units in “Box Formation” which works perfectly fine and is used in competitive scene.
    3rd picture shows a group of 8 Cav Archers and one monk in Box Formation which works as intended as well (monk in the middle of the group).
    4th picture shows how badly Box Formation scales up with this time 13 units. The hollow middle is presented.