19-03-2020 | Fixes / features / ideas / bugs:

Hi, let me start by saying I’ve been playing aoe2 multiplayer on quite a high level for approximately 10 years already.
AoC, HD, Voobly, DE - I know them all.

Hence I know how the game has evolved and changed over the years, expansions, platforms.

The purpose of this topic is to give information to the team of developers on what and potentially how they could improve Definitive Edition, what they should prioritize, which features are still needed, which bugs still exist and appear very often or have a significant impact on overall experience for the players.

1. All units bug out when they are in a group
    and try to attack enemy’s unit that is suddenly outside their range
    but they still detect it as if it was reachable.
    Therefore resulting in a state of not moving or attacking
    any units even if there are other units reachable to them.
    It is exceedingly frequent when we’re talking about melee units
    that have 0 range which as I understand it
    means that hitboxes of units must intersect
    for the melee unit to attack.

2. When you “patrol” ranged units (e.g. crossbowmen) on “stand ground”
    then after crossbowmen detect enemy unit in range
    they will follow that unit instead of
    staying on the track of the commanded path of patrol.

3. When microing units - either melee or ranged - that is
    when the player tries to execute an order of commands:
    hit -> run -> hit -> run
    units cancel player’s run commands after few repeats and instead
    those units stop moving and keep attacking enemy’s units
    and they don’t respond to any further commands
    or they stop completely without doing any action
    and they don’t respond to any further commands.
    I wonder if that has anything to do with the way
    the server collects commands from the players.

4. Cancel the queue of all units in the selected building
    past the icon that was clicked using RMB