A More Efficient & Ergonomic Hotkey Layout

Hi everyone,

I want to share my hotkey setup with you. I have spent many hours crafting it based on my passion for optimization and ergonomics (I am an industrial engineer and also a piano player). My goals while designing this were:

1. Minimize distance your hand/finger has to travel in between hotkeys

2. Improve efficiency of common player actions with intelligent workflows

3. Reduce the memory/processes load on the brain by overlapping hotkeys for buildings

I will explain some of the major concepts here:

• First, all - make the general hotkey settings are all set to “Select Only” (not “Select and Focus”, not “Follow”). I have added several hotkeys to the “Focus on Selected” to mimic this setting of forcing a focus for everything.

• Scouts are cycled & added to hotkey group 9 with `/~ (i.e. left of the 1 key).

• Special control group 8: Control + /~. /~ [2x] focus to group. I use this for my primary scout while collecting sheep and later for accompanying my army or raiding party.

• Set idle military to group 1: F1, F2, F2. This will select idle military, add them to group 1, followed by selecting and removing the scout group so scouts can remain on their own. ** Only slightly awkward thing with this workflow is that you need to make sure at least 1 scout has been selected/grouped first with `/~ or else continuing with F2+F2 will ungroup the idle military you just grouped into group 1**. You’ll see what I mean if/when you try it out…not a big deal really.

• IdIe Villagers Within Radius: Capslock, followed by Spacebar will select then focus each group. Capslock [2x] will select all idles. Alt+Capslock will cycle idles to help find idle fishing boats.

• TC: Spamming Tab will produce villagers from all TCs without focusing, while Control+Tab will cycle and focus so you can adjust waypoints when needed. Docks work similarly.

• Building mills/farms: double tap Q to switch between farms and mills