AOE 2 DE Japanese unique unit replacement suggestion

Hi, I’m not a pro, so I won’t go all Spirit of the Law.

I simply looked at the samurai, the unique unit of japanese, whose trait is to be an anti unique unit. However I through it is kind of lame since many many of those units are archers or cav archers. How can a samurai could even be worth against?

So I through: why not make the samurai unit a cav archer unit?
In historical context, the first samurai were cav archers, and they had some features very singular as such: they mounted small ponies not really fast, they have low range bow but were very accurate with it, they sought “worthy” opponents, and they have an excellent anti arrow armor.

So what would the samurai unit be like? How about that:

-It would have a great pierce armor, so they are not very afraid of archers.
-They would have a very low range, thus they need a good micro handling if want to avoid pikes.
-They would still retain their bonus against unique unit.
-They would have a slow speed for horses (something a bit above speed of an elephant, like 1.2 speed?)
-They’ll have lower frame delay than cav archers
-Their armor depend on the cavalry line armor.

And the japanese unique tech in imperial age instead of katapuruto would be “Yabusame”, that give samurai very high piercing damage.

Is this unit op? No: while it can withstand archers due to high pierce armour and can be very punishing to heavy armored units, swarm of pikemen are still a threat, as well as handcannoners because of their very low range and low firing rate and their lack of cavalry plate barding armor technology.

This unit would thus nicely complement japanese infantry and allow samurai to fulfill totally their “anti unique unit” function.

Would this be worth a thought? A test?

1 Like

How about leave it as it is?

14 Likes

I think he brings up a decent point. It doesn’t scale as good as other civs