AoE II: DE Building Set Feedback (Non Insider Discussion)

Hi all, as a history student I am glad to see that the team is giving the buildingsets of the game a remake.
The screenshot of Constantinople looks great, but I have one remark at the monastery: byz%20monastery
It is an Italian Catholic renaissance styled church, and not a Greek Orthodox church. I am glad to see that the Byzantines get the Mediterranean building set, but it would be nice if there would be space for an earlier type of church which was shared by the Italians as well as the Byzantines. An example is the Torcello Cathedral, wich is an Veneto-byzantine church. The Hagios Demetrios at Thessaloniki could also be an example. (More pictures are comming in the following posts).

Link to Torcello Cathedral (left building, veneto-byzantine): Torcello Church of Santa Maria Assunta

Another Byz-venice church: Murano

14 Likes

The picture below is a beautiful Italian church ( Santa Maria Novella in Florence). The similarities between the AOE church and the real Italian one a striking. Santa_Maria_Novella-ITalianchurch

The look of the earlier medieval churches here below are quite different
Byzantine monastery in Constantinople: Monastery of the Pantocrator

Byzantine ghost-town of Mystras, near Sparta: Mystras ghostcity

2 Likes

So cool, thanks for sharing!

1 Like

The should give them Greek voices instead of Latin.

4 Likes

Here a picture of a medieval Byzantine church: Church%20mystras

7 Likes

This. But don’t expect much. I’m pretty sure there are uncountable other inaccuracies in there to complain just for this church. I’m more interested to see what people said to the relevant question in that MS’s survey. I think there was a question in there asking if historical accuracy in buildings,units, etc is considered important or not.

14470494_1667664253562331_2374835925072434623_n
15875118_1722077518121004_8110085217664287850_o

7 Likes