Are we forgetting the fact that scores are no longer a thing?

They seem to have gotten rid of them. I remember some AoE2 pros saying that scores should not be in the game, because they offer you information you shouldn’t get for free. (e.g. when an opponent clicks up, how far behind are they etc)
What do you think about this? I think it was such an AoE thing, like a trademark.

well you can hide scores in aoe2, so maybe they hided the scores in those seconds of gameplay

I think scores are useful. To me it adds tension and awareness. I don’t think it needs to be removed as you can hide it if you want to.

2 Likes

I’m one of those people who have suggested that before, but I’m no pro.

I always have scores on, but I think it should be possible to make lobbies/games where opposing scores can’t be seen by anyone. It’d be another step toward being able to have a ‘hardcore’ match. If I played online ranked games, I would certainly use this. If it were implemented, it might actually attract me to play more ranked games.

You see, some players attack just because they see they see they are nicely ahead in score. (They know it will be less risky or not risky at all.) Others quit a game just because they have the lower score for too long or by too much, or because they get alerted that the enemy aged up to the next age before them.

I’ve always appreciated games, in general, more where I’m able to find out for myself info like this, rather than have it be broadcast to me. It’s somewhat why I don’t like that sheep can be used as explorers/cartographers. (That’s a can of worms, though; let’s not get into that. Just take it for what it’s worth, which may not be much :stuck_out_tongue: )