Bridges, Sea Walls and Gates, and Builder Boats

Hello, I’m new to this forum and the insider program but I have been playing Age of Empires II since 2005 and I am an avid fan of the casual single player and multiplayer experience. I’d like to put forth a civil discussion about bridges, sea walls, sea gates, and builder boats.

I’d like to preface with an understanding that competitive play would be at risk of massive balancing issues and the like, as would any major change to AoEII’s sandbox, but please bare in mind that this would first and foremost be a tech option. Adding these structures to the game would not be forced on the beloved prime RTS competitive powerhouse of competitive AoEII.

I would also like to point out that modders have hit a wall in terms of developing a data set that would do this due to limitations with the engine, which is why this isn’t in the Mod discussion board.

In this expansion there would be several things to consider, first, let’s talk about boats.

• Builder Boats would be a dock upgrade in the Castle Age that turns all fishing boats into builder boats, and lets them both build fisheries faster, but also equip up to 3 villagers to speed up a fishing boat’s gathering speed and most importantly, building speed. This allows building walls in the water to control canals or dam areas. It also lets boats assist with building docks and bridges. Allowing builder boats to hold villagers would also make them excellent short range colony ships to let both AI and players really explore and settle on islands with no hassle. Military would not be allowed to keep the high value of transport ships.

Next point to cover would be walls and gates.