Building a Discord for Competitive AoE 4, Liquipedia Coverage, Connecting with Organizers, and more

Hey there mates,

I am an esport writer and Liquipedia reviewer for the Age of Empires wiki. Obviously, I am a big fan of the AoE franchise and of the esports side of AoE. So I wanted to make a short write-up to hopefully add some fuel to the AoE4 pyre and get the scene going strong early.

First, a competitive AoE 4 discord. I know there are a lot of content creators (like Aussie Drongo) who created separate chats for AoE4, and many others will too. But they are generally just for that content creator’s community. So I built a discord just for AoE 4 competitive games. A place to look for matches, tournament announcements, news, etc. It is open to everyone who wants to promote their tournaments too. Here is the invite link: Competitive AoE 4

Second, Liquipedia. Since this weekend is not NDA-bound, I will be picking up icons for maps and civs so those can be on liquipedia for tournaments. As it stands there are no guidelines for AoE4 and there likely won’t be ones for a while as tournaments come and go and everybody gets a feel for what is and isn’t a big event in the scene.

This also makes it the best time to hop on the Liquipedia discord and join the soon-to-be discussions on what events and guidelines we should have and to help contribute to the wiki as new events pop up.

Third, Connecting with Organizers, this is the most important one. Like I plugged before if the Age of Empires 4 Competitive discord server actually gets big and attracts organizers that is the best-case scenario to help people work together to organize events.