Burmese Campaign map#5 (Bayinnaung - Old Tiger)

right, so i’m by no means a professional player at all, but i’ve beaten most campaigns on hard so far and while some maps are clearly easier than others, most of them are pretty hard yet doable on hard mode.

that being said, this map (Old Tiger) leaves me at a loss for words and options. i have to throw in the towel and ask for help;

Player starts at the easternmost region of the map and gets an extra base located on an island in the west/northwest.

the eastern base starts you off with your 2 main hero units, 3 monks, 14 two-handed swordsmen, 20 Arambai, 10 battle elephants, 2 trebuchets, 3 villagers and 8 knights (on easier difficulties you also get 3 bombard cannons but not on hard). the base has a bunch of buildings that the player gets control of later in the game after completing the first primary objective.

the western island base starts you off with a bunch of fireships, galleons and garrisoned transport ships along with a hero cavalry unit. like the eastern base there’s a bunch of buildings you gain control of after completing the first primary objective.

enemies consist of 3 different “Rakhine” (yellow AI) and their allied Portuguese mercenaries (purple AI).

here’s how this plays out for me;

1. first i send my navy southwest to land all my garrisoned units and take out the enemy warships guarding the cost.

2. i send my eastern force south to the first wonder, i smash the enemy castle there with my trebs, i use monks to convert elephants, i use arambais and knights to deal with the (quite pesky) Rattan Archers, i use my swordsmen to deal with enemy infantry/buildings and to guard my trebs.

3. at this point i send my western force towards the westmost wonder, use the bombard cannons to take out the castle near it and clear the wonder of enemy troops and buildings.