Easily 75% of my matches are against the English

I started playing about a month ago and love the game. The one problem that is leading me to call it quits is the insanely high percentage of my games being against English players. I played probably 9/10 games against the English recently and it just feels like being cheated out of playing the whole game.

I’m not saying I hate them because they’re OP. I win a good amount of the games, its just not fun to play the same civ over and over again. ESPECIALLY one that can hole up and drag the game out.

Any way we can get 1 civ ban per player in ranked?

3 Likes

I don’t know in which ranking league you play. But English is typical for beginners, because it’s easy to master. That’s why most opponents there will be En/Fr.
When you move up, this will become more relative.

3 Likes

English has/had stupid pick rates even at the top especially last season. On a side note I have heard some pro players say that English are very hard to master although they are noob friendly.

Regarding French, they require multitasking and high APM so even at an average ELO they start becoming weak/hard to play efficiently because it is easier for the defender to react than for you as French to multitask harass everywhere while still managing your economy and doing stuff on the map.

If you play vs 75% english opponents as a non-english, for every 75 games vs english you have, the English opponent as 25%*(1/9) = 2.77 games vs your civ. With this 2700% matchup experience advantage, you should be able to rapidly beat the low league english players until you get matched against players that, on average, have a fairly even matchup experience distribution as you.