Encourage to dev, innovation is not easy

Hello, everyone, I would like to say some good words for dev instead of criticizing.

Innovation is not easy and they did a good job till now.

I’m 41 years old now and when I was a student in university in 1999, it was first time for me to play AOE2 in computer. It’s my first game in life. I still remember how I love this game when all my friends were playing Starcraft 1. I could play it all the day through deep night.

22 years pasted, I played and bought all AOE games including AOE online.
I understand deeply that it’s not easy for AOE, for all of you, for the past devs. AOE has experienced a long way to AOE 4. Lucky for us all , we can still have it, play it.

I’m also not very satisfied when I saw the introduction movies. It really did not give me WOW and amazing. It is not better than I have imagined.
But I still want to thank devs. It’s not easy for them especially in these days.

1. two hard choices for dev

When we decided to set up a new project game for AOE 4, we faced 2 hard choices:
One is to set up a new game for the time of WAR 2. In this way, AOE will come to a new times but I believe that few fans like that. we all do not like tanks full of screen. That may be AOE and may be not AOE. It will like another game.

Two is to set up a new game just like AOE Online and make it much more better than AOE Online. This way has even more risk. Most fans like RTS games not RTS + MMORPG games. It will lose many fans support.

Then, the ONLY way is to go back to set up a new game like AOE2, because AOE2 has many fans. But we can not set up a new game just the same like AOE2.

1. Innovation comes, the devs make it

So I think that devs made a better choice for us all – add innovations to AOE2, make it better than AOE2 and use the age of AOE2.

thanks for those innovations appeared in the introduction movies. I think those innovations make AOE 4 is really different from AOE2