First Deck

Hi, I’m new to the game, though played Age of Empires original, many, many years ago now.

So I see that you can select a Deck to start with, does anyone have any advice as to how to build a Deck for a new starter to this version of AoE?

If I were you I would use the premade decks until being comfortable with game and civ-specific mechanics. For example, a must to go 99% times is 3 villagers as 1st shipment. Also to have wood crates in age 2 (as its the slowest resource to gather)

If you want to play treaty (40min) (which has premade deck too) avoid to use crates, villagers, units or advanced buildings (but arsenal).

Like Ekdal1378 said just use the default deck or just ignore it entirely (The deck system). There are a lot of youtube vids to learn from some old and some new but overall they should help.

If i was going to give advice for better understanding of the deck system and its value of each card just look at each age 1,2,3,4 card crates ; these are resource crates of either food/wood/coin and a couple other types for specific civs that you have to gather with villagers. Crates are gathered VERY fast regardless of resource type at around 8res/ per second( how the game measures the rate in game) but the actual rate is more like 2.5 sec/ per 20 resource as the villagers needs to gather for 2.5 seconds on the crate before picking up ANYTHING (the 20 res).

Each age UP gives more resource from the next age1 (300), age2 (700), age3 (1000) and age4 (1600)