How difficult is to climb

Alright, I am a noob at low elo,and I want to climb. How much should I expect from winning or losing?

In Overwatch, you win or lose around 25 elo per game. If you played well, you win 27 or 28 per victory and you lose 22 or 23 per defeat. Lets say that you are climbing with a 55% victory rate. In 100 games, you win 55 victories, and lose 45, winning a total amount of elo of around 450. That is almost one rank. So, while playing well for your rank, you need like 110 games to climb one rank.

Because of this, it is frustating to climb in overwatch. After 10 games, you will be about 45 elo higher as before, in average. 45 elo is less than 2 neat victories. But einning elo is like a yo yo, you need to aim for long term climbing.

How is aoe2 compared to this?

I dont really know anything about Overwatch, so i cant really compare. Winning / losing elo really depends on the enemy and the number of games you have played.

In your first games, you will gain / lose more, so your rating will move more quickly towards your true elo. In you first game you can win/loose around 45 elo. Every game this number became lower and lower and lower, untill it is around 15. If your enemy have slightly higher elo, it also can be a bit higher. If your enemy have slightly lower elo, it will be just a little bit lower. 15 is a good average. 15x55 - 15*45 = 150. So you will gain 150 elo as estimate over 100 games.

I dont know your elo, but ā€˜a noob at low eloā€™ feels like someone around 600-700 elo. I think you can easily climb up to 1000 by applying some rules that work for almost every RTS game:

• Spend all your resources. There is no reason to have thousands of every resource in the bank. Spend them. Make buildings, research (useful) techs, make military, attack the enemy, ā€¦
  • Produce as much villagers as quickly as possible. Therefore reduce the idle time at the TC and have always enough food to produce villagers.