How do I modify units and textures

as a person new to modeling can anyone tell me how to modify units and texture them please. Thank You :stuck_out_tongue:

To preface, I am by no means an expert at this (quite the opposite), and I lack the knowledge, skill, and tools that an expert would know like the back of their hand, however figuring out how to do this is a huge asset for modding so I have been stumbling my way through it to try to learn. I’ll walk you through the very first skin attempt I made as a complete novice, and if your knowledge of 3D modeling is more than mine it may be enough to get you where you need to be to do your own skins.

You will need Resource Manager in order to extract the textures and xml files. You may want Notepad++ or something like it to make editing the XMLs easier. You will need a PaintShop type program to do your skins, possibly some other tools. Anything with models is going to require even more programs as I believe you need a tools just to get the GR2 files into a program like Blender, and that’s beyond my current level of knowledge so I can’t help there. You might also need File Converter to put the TGAs back into DDTs.

For my current modding project, I wanted to use the Bandido hat, but I didn’t like that the top of it is entirely in player color. How can we change that?