How I lost my first 4 ranked games and won the 5th

A little context. I have been an RTS fan for 22 years; my first game being the original AoE when I was 7 years old. I have played every AoE game in existence, including the ethically questionable AoE: Castle Seige (please don’t ever go down that path again). I have also sinked countless hours of gameplay into the TW franchise, CoH Franchise, and the ill-fated DoW Franchise :cry:. I have beaten every AI difficultly level in all those games (even 2v1) and thoroughly enjoy online multiplayer. I typically have a win rate of >75%, but I am no pro gamer and I dont intend to be. At best, I consider myself an RTS veteran.

Now back to AoE 4. First of all, I have almost completed all the masteries of every civ and i’ve probably played <10 quick match games but only with my friends in team settings. 1v1 with hardest AI in any civ combination is no longer a challenge for me. I don’t have the time that I used to for gaming so I havent had a chance to play much multiplayer since launch. These days I am a casual RTS player, 1 or 2 games on average per week.

So what are my thoughts on 1v1 ranked in Aoe4?

Absolutely brutal.