How to replace font and use English voice-over for other language?

Hi, I’m new to the AoE modding community, currently working on some AoMR modding ideas. I know how to pack and load a mod, or extracting BAR files, but I’m still unfamiliar to how the game handles things. Here’s my questions and I would very much appreciate any help or advice.

1. How to add new TTF font to the game and make the game use the font?
    I tried to add a TTF font to game\ui_myth\Fonts and edit the XML in game\ui_myth\resources\language_resources\TraditionalChinese\LanguageResources_zh-Hant.xaml to use the new font instead of the original Traditional Chinese override, however it doesn’t work.

2. I want to create a mod to use English voice-over for other languages.
    I edited the file game\data\strings\locale_mappings.xml and delete <soundfolder> tag for the target language, hoping the game will load default English voice-over. However the game still loads the localized voice-over for the language.
    I don’t want to manually replace all the audio files in the sound_localized folder BAR file. There should be a way to make the game load default sound when choosing the other languages, but I’m not sure how to.

Self answering question 2:

The game treats sounds in mod in higher priority than localized sound files. Therefore to make the game use English voice-over in other languages, simply make a mod containing all default campaign dialogue voice files. I’ve already created the mod.

1 Like

Have you figured out how to change the font by any chance?

From what I can tell, custom fonts are always placed after local in priority, because the main menu and in-game fonts don’t change, but when you enter the map editor, the font you changed is applied.