How to use Cavalry Archers?

I really like the idea of Cavalry archers for raiding the economy (in particular with cards) of other players. Yet, despite being cavalry I can’t get them to escape infantry. As soon as they start fighting against infantry they slow down.

How can I skirmish with Cavalry archers? It is rather upsetting that it seems difficult to accomplish since one of Cavalry archers’ very purposes is to skirmish.

Cavalry Archers are generally bad at kiting and raiding, infantry counters them.
Their main purpose is to counter Heavy Cavalry.

1 Like

Thank you for the clarification. I do find it odd that kiting and raiding isn’t the role of cavalry archers since that’s what seems the most natural.

I’ve been pretty disappointed by Cav. Archers so far. Though I’m new at AOE III.

I tried with the Irregulars card which gives them a pretty great multiplier for raiding (1.5x instead of 0.5) arguably making them a bit more similar to Bow Riders (with almost half base damage, a bit more health and the same speed).

Still, I find it rather odd that they are so badly affected by snare that they’re unable to avoid battles. Almost in all games mounted archery is certainly not something that does a lot of damage, but is very strategically useful since you can retreat or raid very easily.

Here it doesn’t seem to be so much the case. Countering heavy cavalry would be one of the last tthings I’d expect horse archers to do. x)
Anyway, thank you for your help.

With the introduction of gunpowder cav archers lost their dominance on the battlefields, i think the gamemechanics want to resemble this. I agree, that ranged cav doesnt feel like a intuitiv counter to heavy cav and think lance riders (like Uhlans) would be more historical accurate … but giving lance riders a multiplayer against inf and cav doesnt feel balanced ^^ so i think they made a compromise

1 Like