New player experience suggestions? lost 6/7 of my first games

edit: ok my post didnt seem to get my point across well so ill try a different way

i have 50 games of 4v4, so im not a complete noob, but when i started playing 1v1, i lost 6/7 games

i love the game and want it to have strong player retention, but if going on a 10-game losing streak is normal for beginners, its a bit concerning.

Instead you want to reward players so they are much more motivated to come back. Its how our brains are hardwired for survival and stuff. If your a caveman and you find a new fruit and it tastes amazing your brain goes THIS IS IMPORTANT REMEMBER THIS AND DO THIS AGAIN.

My suggestion is to sneak easy bots into competitive modes, disguised as random steam users, just for the first (or first few) placement games.

And then follow that up with aggressive, smart ELO assessment that puts them as close as possible to their true ELO immediately, using any data you have on them.

So now if a new player wants to jump straight into competitive, they wont get mericlessly owned 10 games in a row because they barely understand that they need to keep making villagers. Instead, they go up against an easy bot. They will have the feeling of facing threats, while being in full control of the game, and eventually overwhelming the enemies base and glorious victory as their first impression. They will feel like they were matched against another noob and crushed them. And players are smart and they know how easy it is to improve in such a high-skill cap game as a beginner, they will see so much potential in themselves and sink their teeth into the game.

It’s night and day. People that become interested in the game and try it only to lose hard 10 games in a row will just completely minimize the relevance of the game in their mind and move on because it feels like they will have to climb mount everest to see any reward from it.

2 Likes

It’s called skirmish mode.