Noob here! Tips appreciated

Hey everyone! First post. I started playing AOE maybe just over a week ago. I use the Huns but my friend told me they weren’t all that great. They’re the team I’m most comfortable with but I’m wondering if I should try new ones or if anyone has good tips for how to use the Huns!

1 Like

In general, if you feel comfortable with it, play it. You can succeed with any civ. But in general it is always an advantage to play and get to know other civs.

I recommend getting to know more civs. Huns are a “good” starting point cause you don’t need houses, so you have 1 thing less to keep concentrating on all the time at the very beginning but, no other civ works this way so getting too comfortable at the no house play will just be harder to learn the others eventually. Also trying out and getting to know different civs gives you more information on their strengths, so even if you choose to mainly play a civ or two, you’ll atleast know how to counter the other civs with those civs. Mostly a tip I can give you is you should come familiar with the game itself and huns have a very select tech tree, so there are many things they cannot do at all, their main advantage being very good at the earlier parts of the game and falling off badly to any civ at the very later stages.

Here you go mate!

As a personal advice, elephants are amazing, but be aware of monks and spearman/pikeman/halbediers

If you plan on playing ranked games or already doing so you could pick 1 or 2 civs for each map you intend to play and figure out how to best make use of your civ on that particular map. That way, you’ll be able to learn different civs and strats without getting lost in the huge variety the game offers.