Raid on Babylon - HOW?

I’ve heard that this mission was bugged due to hyper-aggressive AI, and that it was apparently fixed…yet still, even trying to play it on Easiest, I just get swarmed by all the AI and can’t do anything. Even if I use the cheese island strat, I still can’t do anything because I can’t get anything set up back on the shore. No matter where I land, all of the enemy teams swarm to my position with Priests and Legions and Cavalry and Catapults and I can’t do anything.

I’ve tried watching videos and doing what they do, but it just doesn’t seem to work. No matter what strategy I try, I get completely overrun by the enemy from all directions.

You can beat this mission in 2 minutes by using a rushing strategy. Otherwise you could wall yourself in at the start. I have beaten it this way on hardest. Though considering I am an expert player this might not be the best advice.

I tried walling, multiple times, but then they’d just start attacking the walls and it would just delay me getting overrun.

Seriously, I’ve been searching through google and youtube, tried at least 8 different strats now, every single time results in me just getting overrun by all 3 enemy teams constantly sending military units at me. I’ve tried island strat, I’ve tried walling, I’ve tried taking out yellow immediately, I’ve tried building in the east at the orange town, nothing works. No matter where I go, the enemies home in on me and trample me to death.

The best I ever did was building up at the far-east orange base, but I ran out of gold (since there’s only 3 nodes there) and when I took down the wall and went to move out, all 3 enemy teams were there with 10+ units each.

This just seems utterly impossible unless you’re godlike at AoE. Why is this one mission so ball-bustingly hard, after all the previous missions before it were so easy?

And what “rushing strat” ? If I get all the gaia cavalry and rush in, I just die.