(Request) Add regional skins for units! (Or just the core system)

I see so many requests for regional or civ unit skins , come on Devs please, at least put the core mechanism there so modders can tinker with it in a simple healthy way. As it is now its impossible to make a mod for that purpose without breaking the game and the Ai… A regional or civilization skin pack per civ/region should be a given… I mean most if not all the skins needed to make that a reality are already in the game waiting to be used. Pretty pretty please!

6 Likes

Why would the AI or game break?units are the same only graphics differ like the buildings.

Yes but can you put more than one graphic skin per unit? Won’t you have to create duplicates for every unit, change their skins , make an effect for every single one to be used by every single civ and then hope that the Ai will use them like nothing happened? I hope to be wrong on this one so I work around it somehow :slight_smile: I’m new at modding so any info is much appreciated!

Edit: tell me that you can can add different skin to the same unit just by choosing a civ while editing in AGE3 and I missed the simplest thing possible!

Yes its very much possible, buildings are done like that. Best example is wonders, wonder building entree is the same in the data only the graphics change.

1 Like

Oh god… thank you man , now it will be piece of cake to do that reskin mod I was trying to do ! Jesus how can I missed that… Hahaha , and i was trying to do it with the most messy, twisted way possible haha

1 Like

I’m all for unit skins for those thst want them but it should remain entirely client side only.

1 Like

Always, thats a given. Its more of a casual luxury. Competitively it will be a drawback.

Game performance will also drop, even now a building going down takes about 1gb of ram.

Why? Explain please? I dont get it