Rus foucs

it says the Rus focus is expansion, cavalry, hunting.

But the Rus had a HUUUUUUUUGEEEEE influence in trade. Their “expansion” was driven by trade. that’s the reason they sought to expand, they could sell furs and make an insane network between central /western europe and through the steppes.

I’m glad theres changes being made etc, but i can tell that the developers first thought of this civ as having a bigger trade influence, that’s why the trade house building is there, as well as in a previous patch it literally said in the description, “Trade” for one of their focus.

I suggest that the devs revise and consult with other historians, I myself am a college professor, not in history, but that would be my next to go to (american / world hist 1301 intro) to be specific if i had to change focus, so,
as a hobby-historian, i’d like to suggest that the focus changes a bit from sooo much hunting ingame, and adds some aspect of better trading.

From a gamer’s perspective: i know the TH is busted, but the hunting early game is just a lot and idk, like it doesnt integrate as well late game as you’d like, like it’s missing something. I feel like I’m playing some hybrid or different civ, not an actual Rus civ from the history books. it needs something to make it feel more “Rus”

No comments on horse archers, or their metas, i’m strictly commenting on their showcase representing an ancient powerhouse empire that led to modern Russia

For a bit of reference:

^^How Rus (ukraine) developed into modern Russia (and explains their reason for expansion

^^tatars, cossacks, & Rus interactions in the steppes with decaying Mongols

And the channel Kings and Generals on youtube provides plenty great pointers as well, i don’t like to recommend their channel because the guy bores to death i can’t watch one of their vids for more than 10 seconds before the guy’s voice makes the ears scream, but : Slavs and Vikings: Medieval Russia and the Origins of the Kievan Rus - YouTube