Sequel of AoE 2

If AoE 4 turns out to be a game in the Middle Ages, it will be the makers of the easy way. Instead of creating a completely new game, they will do a replay of the most popular part of the series. They know that they will make the best money from it. It makes me sad. Ever since I graduated from AoE 3, I was hoping that AoE 4 would be from the Victorian era to the Cold War.

I’m afraid that the creators no longer care about the continuation of the series, but about the continuation of AoE 2 - more fame, popularity and nostalgic sentiment. They know people will buy it anyway.

2 Likes

same timeline =/= same game

one of reason why they went back in time is because how aoe3 didn’t succeed as much as aoe2 did due to the boring timeline to the whole so many new mechanic especially the card system that made the game doesn’t feel like an age of empire game (and if remember correctly there ES devs said something similar to this) to the limitation of building and not be able to build near enemy base.

so it make sense for them to follow the successful model, and personally one of the second reason for them to go back in time is that the medieval era suits age of empires the best compared to other eras due to the huge amount of empires and civilization that existed around the medieval era compared to small amount of empire in the future eras and the whole knights, archers, swordsmen, pikes fighting each other is a’lot more fun to see and play around with compared to all in gunpowder and so many stories to tell.

and the whole world war, Cold War, modern time, etc… doesn’t really suits age of empires since then you have to change the core gameplay of the game due to the era to introduce so many mechanic to the point it will a very alien game to the fans of the game and they drop these games entirely and go back to older age of empires games and there’s already games that serve these era (e.g company of heroes)