So many laggers in ranked

It’s becoming so frustrating, the only reason I started playing ranked months ago was because you have to test your computer before you can play it so it would mean less likely to be paired with lagging players but recently I’ve been encountering one or more laggers in almost 70% of games.

So what’s the point of the performance test if it’s not doing it’s intended job? so annoying.

3 Likes

I think it just checks if you can play. It doesn’t check for a level that leaves out lag. Also part of the problem is where the other person is from and how fast their internet is. Its a bit different then overall performance.

Performance test is for the hardware, but internet and bad servers are not covered. Depending when you play you may be having issues because of the distance… You may be getting the India server, but if there is someone from Argentina or Canada, they will have lag to play on that server.

I thought the whole point of taking away peer hosted games was to eliminate the lag. I know that the game is capable of moving on without me for several seconds, so I am confused as to why the performance of individual players computers/internet has any impact at all on other players. I feel like it should be classified as a bug if this happens.

4 Likes

It is the same since the original game release, the code is the same, they would need to redo the game entirely, which wont happen, wait for aoe 4

1 Like

I’ve always thought a server region selection could help this big time?

Try picking a specific server

How do you do that? didn’t know you could, thanks