Usac’s Civ Crafting Brainstorms Part 8 - Swahili

So the Swahili, traders a bit south of the Horn of Africa. A naval power and first of the Southern African unit set.

The Swahili cities were not united and were powered by trade but the Portuguese were a constant thorn.

Swahili
Siege And Naval civ

• Onager Upgrade free

While siege wasn’t the most common in Swahili lands, Catapults were of common use as noted by Portuguese journals.

• Spearmen +1 armor vs anti-spearman attacks. Another +1 in Castle for +2 total.

Spear usage is high in Africa

• Dock techs research 500% faster

Gotta get the techage quicker.

• Farm techs increase villager carry capacity by 30%.

Common tradegoods were farming, whether livestock or crops.

Team Bonus: Fishing Spots revealed within 30 range of TCs and docks.
More naval bonuses!

A half pop galley. Replaces the galley line. Trains faster and costs less. 2 are technically stronger than 1 equal age galley but it requires more docks to maintain the overwhelming ‘numbers’

Mtep Light Regular Elite
Health 65 75 90
Attack (Pierce) 4 (+5 vs ships, +5 vs fishing ships, +4 vs buildings, +2 vs ram) 6 (+6 vs ships, +6 vs fishing ships, +5 vs buildings, +2 vs ram) 6 (+8 vs ships, +7 vs fishing ships, +6 vs buildings, +3 vs ram)
Range 5 6 7
RoF 3 3 3
LoS 7 8 9
Movespeed 1.47 1.47 1.47
Armor 0/6 0/7 0/8
Cost 50w/20g
Train Time 19 19 18
To Elite 400f/300w 35s

UU: Rungu - Club throwing infantry who can swap to melee, which strikes faster and harder but they’re not the fastest.

Rungu Stats Elite
Health 60 70
Attack (range) 6 (+1 vs Eagles and buildings, +4 vs archers) 7 (+2 vs Eagles and buildings, +5 vs archers)
Attack (melee) 10 (+3 vs Eagles, Siege and buildings, +6 vs cavalry) 13 (+4 vs Eagles, siege and buildings, +8 vs cavalry)
Range 4 4
Accuracy 100 (both)
RoF 2.2 1.9
LoS 8 8
Movespeed .85 .85
Armor, Melee (Infantry/UU) 2/1 3/1
Armor, Range (Infantry/UU) 1/2 1/3
Cost 50f/50g
Train Time 16 16
To Elite 900w/800g 60s