Using a new Engine?

I was wondering if AoE 2 could use a new engine? I have no experience or knowledge about this topic but I have seen some games like Dota 2 updating their engine to work better with modern hardware.

Since, AoE 2 uses only a single core of the processor I think updating to a modern engine could solve a ton of performance issues and I believe AoE 2 will be able to run on low end computers better.

Any of you guys know if this is possible? If it is, FE(or whole World’s Edge) must consider it in future.

Ps: I know game engine update comes with changes in how game works, but it can be made much similar to what we have now, at least other games have managed to do so. Also, the current UI is really bad, I don’t know about everyone but it really annoys me. Does the UI also depend on the engine?

1 Like

I think if they wanna make a new engine, this had to be done before the game was released. It seems pretty hard to just update some 20 year old engine. It is not really easy to do, i think.

2 Likes

AoE4 is the new engine, we’re stuck with what we’ve got, fairly sure during the beta period it was said that there were no plans to replace the current engine.

4 Likes

Isn’t is possible to use some open source engine?

porting games from one engine to another can be really hard/tricky/time consuming from what I understand, especially if the game was not made to be ported to the chosen engine or the engine was not made for an easy port of the game.

1 Like

It certainly is.

But replicating everything 100% is a monumental amount of work, and chances are it still won’t feel the same.

There are open source engines that are working on this, OpenAge is one such project, it’s been in development since 2014 and doesn’t seem like it’s anywhere near ready for a production release: GitHub - SFTtech/openage: Free (as in freedom) open source clone of the Age of Empires II engine 🚀

2 Likes

its not viable at this point, they would have to redo the entire game