What are some successful strategies that someone can employ in AOE: DE?

I’ve been playing this series ever since I was five years old, yet I still haven’t quite understood how to advance in the quickest way possible. If anyone with some experience can enlighten me – and others --, please reply!

Don’t be afraid to create lots of villagers in your early game. They can hold back advancing to the Tool or Bronze Age a bit, but you’ll need them for the resources they can gather. More workers mean more materials under the same time, and you’re gonna mine loads of gold anyways for the technological upgrades (and units).
I also like to build fishing boats because they’ll cover my food income in most cases, and they only cost wood. 10-15 ships should be enough, but if you feel it slow, either create more of them or just build another dock, because you won’t lose that much time by the travelling to the fish and back.

Basically how I play is 5 boats with 5-10 villagers woodstocking and gathering berries in the Stone Age, then 10-15 boats with 15-20 workers once I advance to Tool Age. 5 of them should start gathering Gold, because Bronze Age is near, and the upgrades can be costy. (If you play on a map without sea, then you should trade the boats for farms.)

I mostly start creating my army in the Iron Age, as my warfare is around the Horse Archers (maybe because my ancestors were in the cavalry and I love archery). This can backfire as well, because you could be unarmed in the open until the midgame, but a few warships can be useful with basic military units to protect you.

Don’t forget the Watch Towers, build them to guard your docks and town, and always have two priests ready for healing and converting.