What is the point of TGs?

1700 RM player here.

I recently started playing TGs and I’m 1200 elo or something like that in TGs. To me, it seems that while I can climb over a large number of games, TGs are largely random, and I would say you can write a sketch equation of TG elo, and RM elo that looks like this:

TG elo = RM elo - ~200

It seems to me that I play with players who are 1k elo in RM, and have 0 clue how the game works, not only in terms of gold unit comps being stronger than trash units, but bad at everything: booming, reading the game, controlling the map, choosing an adequate unit in Feudal/Castle…

I don’t even expect them to macro well, or make as large of an army as I do, but often I see people on Arabia flank thinking that defensive Castle into defensive Organ Guns and 3 TC boom is the play. Or on Arena, I’ve even seen a guy who is officially 1200 elo in RM do a 34 pop “fast” Castle as Poles flank making sure to pick ALL eco upgrades before clicking up (stone mining upgrade included!). He also forgot the 2 buildings so he hit Castle age at like min 23 (on Arena) and got destroyed by a Fast Imp Bengalis Monks play. I, his Teutons pocket, admittedly didn’t scroll my screen on his map because I assumed he could survive until min 30-32 (at which I had 6+ Stable Paladin ready).

Since I’m often the best player in the team/highest score and clear 1 guy relatively fast, I am often doubled/tripled, probably as a result of enemies X’ing my TC or something like that (“let’s kill this annoying guy”).