Winning as Mongols without cheese

It seems very hard? I am a noob but has anyone got any tips? A lot of it will be that I use no build order I expect.

1st tip, the Mongols are not cav civ!
2nd tip always move your barracks close to your enemy and somewhere hard to be spotted.
3rd tip focus on wood and food until the castle age.
4th Build your TC near stone and immediately build ovoo. You can produce 2 villagers using your stone and it can improve your overall economy at the start of the game.
5th always build outposts almost everywhere. (especially near gold and the routes where you units go) as it increases speed when you build Feudal age Deer Stone or upgrade the Yam network.

3 Likes

Why do you say they’re not a cav civ? Because French beat them? Putting TC next to ovoo at start is good idea ty :slight_smile: I feel with the Mongols due to lack of walls you really need to win early or you’re doomed to lose if the game draws out. Unless the opposing player turtles and has bad economy.

It is not a cav civ bcse the Mangudai are easily countered by archers or outposts if built in a very clever way. And the early cav and castle age lancers are too expensive and doesn’t have anything special.

Horse archers don’t have much damage to building which makes them completely useless, since the Mongols gain resources when they burn buildings. And the infantries have highest building damage and cheap, you can easily train a lot of them.

But infantry man, oh boi, they have the fastest infantry in the game due to Yam Network. It increases 15% movement speed. And the barracks are really fast when packed if you upgrade the “superior mobility” from the ovoo. This is why you don’t need cav. The barracks are the cav and you send it near enemy base so no need for running all the way to the enemy base xD. And when you build Kurultai close to enemy and always keep it near Khan it will increase damage by 25%. You will have the highest dmg infantry in the game. Which is sick!