07-05-2020 | Game Balance | #101.101.36906.0_4941835

Hi, let me start by saying I’ve been playing aoe2 multiplayer for approximately 10 years already on quite a high level - currently 1v1: 15xx and TG: 23xx rating.
AoC, HD, Voobly, DE - I know them all. I am also familiar with Age of Empires 2 pro scene.
I’m amazed by recent progression of aoe2 and thankful to Definitive Edition team for listening to player base input.

The purpose of this topic is to point out areas of aoe that require additional balance changes and give an example of how to improve it.
Let me just add that most of the time I play Random civilization cause I enjoy the strategic aspect and untypical scenarios that you can get by doing so. Therefore I would say that I have a broad knowledge and understanding of the game in current balance.
I expect this topic to render strong emotions.
What I had in mind was adding small improvements to the balance step by step and this would be one small step out of many.
I tried to come up with changes that would influence the game the least yet improve mentioned subjects and create more options by broadening range of possible strategies to choose from.

Balance section:

1. Improve Turk’s playability
    The greatest enemy of Turks is Turks themselves - lack of no gold options (aka “trash units”). But so is enemy’s combination of Arbalesters with Cavalier or Elephant line, because in this situation Turk’s gunpowder with mounted units is not a viable option (economically and militarily) but they don’t have anything else going for them. Even pure Elephant line is enough to fight Turks’ composition.
    The best solution I could come up with that would keep Turk’s identity:
    Possibly give them civ bonus that makes all their stable units have +1 pierce armor per age (starting from Castle Age)
    OR
    Have their unique upgrade Sipahi affect all mounted units.]
    THEN