Adam Isgreen about AOE 4 graphic style

Adam Isgreen explains that

6 Likes

Makes sense. I like the color, so now everyone can be happy!

1 Like

I don’t remember people complaining “it is bright”, neither here or in the Steam forums. Everyone was complaining about it being too cartoony, which is very different.

Seems he just distorted it, in order to have an easy “solution”. I’m still disappointed.

4 Likes

The proportions of the buildings and the environment are cartoony, I am an architect and from this I understand a little, the relationships between heights and widths, the large size of elements such as the tiles of the roofs in the buildings or the size of the planks in wooden structures it is disproportionate to give an example. The ridiculous appearance of the cereal fields next to the mill is very significant, the area they occupy is ridiculous compared to the height of the crop, from everything that is shown in the trailer this is the most cartoony thing. It doesn’t have the magnitude of AoEO but it is cartoony enough to have made many people think it was a phone game the first time they saw the trailer.

4 Likes

Tone down kid, you are here for one week only. It is good you like the game as it is, now just go play with your friends and stop offending people.

2 Likes

It won’t be a phone game even if this ‘cartoony.’ RTS are very hard to be made for a phone game. I can’t think of any hit games where the proportion to units to building was up to the scale. Starcarft, DOW, Company of heroes, and past AOEs including AOE 2 are all overblown. Only space RTS game had ‘true’ proportion because the environments is just matt black.

1 Like