AI cheating allowed?

I open this thread searching your comments of course.
I usually play this game in sp campaigns to know new scenarios and new histories of the past.
I prefer a game in security and no rush victory.
At extreme level I played many games vs AI with success but with no doubt I saw cheats.

I accept that AI skills improve about:
military tactics;
tech strategy;
acknowledge about units, buildings or maps;
the generals can be stronger ones;
but it’s enough.

I think that:
TC must have same time to create inhabitants;
the knight must explore like mine to reveal the map;
the inhabitants or fish ships must collect as mine (if not improving the technology);
the population limit must be real and respected with no shortcut in technology tree.

Yes, I’m a noob since 20y in MS games, but I loved them anyway; sure honour and medals to their pro players.

1 Like

Once I’ve been told, that “medium” difficulty does not cheat. It was not a statement coming from a developer, so I doubt that is really true. I used cheats to put pressure on the AI lots of times, and it normally takes me a lot to defeat them, even with 4 or even more photon men. Also, town centers spamming villagers is something I don’t really understand, since every villager costs (normally) 50 food, and I don’t remember having seen enemy AI gathering/producing lots of food. I might be wrong, though.

By the way, there are several improvements mentioned here, if you’re interested in the whole AI matter. Yes, the thread is old, but what’s mentioned there is relevant even to this day, with update 46777, since the AI wasn’t really touched much since release according to official update changelogs.

1 Like

Playing a small map and full clear, You can see the two town centers and the villager production is different.
With population cap at 100 the AI strategy is not reaching a higher age, but 60 villagers that collect everything for a high quantity; the second stage is producing an army.