European cultures in the game, anything missing? HRE?

I have been thinking about how the Holy Roman Empire is represented in age of empires 2. We have a mishmash of cultures, kingdoms, people in the game. In some cases named after modern countries, in other cases orders such as Teutons in the game.

The medieval history of Europe is complicated with different dynasties fighting for powers, something I am not an expert in. But as far as I understand (wikipedia) the HRE consisted of the Kingdoms of Germany, Italy, Bohemia and Burgundy. Out of these the latter three are now in the game. Are Teutons meant to represent Germans as a whole, or rather the Teutonic order, which was concentrated to the baltic sea to the east?

Should Germany be in the game, outside the Teutons? Since we now have Burgundians and Bohemians, are there other Central European cultures/kingdoms, etc, which played a big role historically, what about Austrians, or the Swiss?

Regarding Italy, I am thinking that the current Italy could be renamed to Genoa, and a new Venice civ created. Is this unnecessary?

I for one would really like to see Swiss pikemen in the game, though as I understand what is modern Switzerland has its origin in the later Middle Ages and before that under influence of various houses and dynasties of Europe. Perhaps Swiss mercenary pikemen could be available as mercenaries in the imperial age. Though I know many might oppose to this, I believe there is a time period in the late Middle Ages where those fought in the battlefields of Europe.

Also interested in adding Scotland to the game, with well organised pike armed Schiltrons. Celts would still stay in the game.

What, if any changes, additions would you make to European civilisations in the game?

I know many are interested in cultures outside Europe primarily, but please leave this outside this thread.

2 Likes