Fixing the Siege meta

These would be the changes I recommend for siege:

Bombard:
HP reduced from 480 to 400
Slower projectile speed, making it dodgeable for units most of the time except for elephants, siege
Rate of fired reduced by 15%
Setup/unsetup time increased by 15%

Trebuchet:
Wood cost reduced from 500 to 400
Gold cost reduced from 250 to 200
Base movement speed increased by 15%
Rate of fire increased by 15%

Mangonel:
Fire rate reduced by 20%

Springald:
Bonus damage vs siege reduced from +90 to + 70

Culverin:
Gold cost reduced to 450 from 600

Clocktower bonus hp reduced to +25% instead of 50%

Villagers:
Repair speed reduced by 20%

2 Likes

I am not an expert in siege, but if you think about it: going to the third age is expensive and you cannot replace the army soon, besides the siege is expensive. Against siege I recommend you attack from the rear with horsemen and scouts, lance knights it is very expensive to lose them in that. try it, regards

1 Like

Yea, what changes do you disagree with? It doesn’t make siege worthless.

I am still not in the capacity to assess that.

I’ve had great battles placing springalds right behind gate, they shoot through the gate, also bringing Lancers +Springals around the side during enemy siege, even if I lose my Springalds they lost much more expensive bombards/trebs.
People complain about siege so much but if you just build springals or culverines with knights enemy siege is almost useless. Also seen landshnekts used properly destroy siege armies, formation and micro matters

1 Like

I don’t believe siege needs to be nerfed, I believe defenses need to be buffed.

Bear with me here

Imagine wall mountable springalds, and no not the towers that get taken out in two shots, I mean taking your 30 springalds from the ground and putting them on the walls like the archers (like a defensive fortress during this time period would have done)