Granadiers didnt actually use granades in open field Very often

Before anything, I’m here as a historian and a gamer. I have a master degree in XIX century history and I think I’m more then qualified to discuss this Topic.
I know a bunch of people here dont care much about Historical accuracy in a game, but on the other hand, a lot of you guys do care about some history while playing RTS games like Age Of Empires.

Historically, the use of the name “grenadiers” was used to emphasize the quality of that battalion, being countless times the elite of the infantry line.
They could use grenades yes, but not like we see here on aoe3. The grenades were used in sieges, in the invasion of boats and houses where there were enemy soldiers.

What were the grenadiers then? They were musketeers who fought in the infantry line in special “guard” regiments.

Let’s talk gameplay? The grenadiers present in the game are perhaps the worst unit in terms of efficiency per pop and cost-effectiveness. Although they are HEAVY INFANTRY, which in essence means that the unit can defend itself against HEAVY CAVALRY, They are devoured by any cavalry in the game, even melee goons.

Ok, they cant fight cav, but they can fight “light infantry”, right? Wrong! Even with a higher ranged resistance ot 40%, the same pop skirm wins granadiers. Lets say, 5 granadiers vs 10 skirm. Well, they get melted.

Alright, alright, let’s see the British granadiers with all upgrades, cards, and everything. They still useless in late game. All british musk cards benefits the granadiers and still, is useless.
The same goes for ottoman, with a Royal guard unit that is useless. And Rússia aswell.

In my personal opinion, the Dev team can have a look at this unit, since it’s a way to compensate New civs getting everything New and Brillant while old civs still “outdated” in many ways.

A YouTube vídeo to illustrate what i’m saying

Hope you guys speak what you think.

10 Likes