Implementing Custom Icons ? Solution: "atlas" or "interface"?

I’m working on a Tower Defense map and my idea was, that I could use custom icons for the different waves in the objective messages. As it turns out, this basic idea is quite difficult to implement… I mean, does it really matter? No, but it drives me nuts, because I really believe there should be a reasonable way to do it.

1) Approach: XS Scripting
The easiest way would be to implement custom icons over xs scripting. The problem is, the constant “cAttrSetIcon” uses an ID and not a path to a specific file…

2) Approach: Icon Mod
The method with “icon mod” is just too extreme for a map. Changing “materials.json” and “icons.json” may be fine for an icon mod, but for a custom map? It only works after a restart, and it stays after the map was played…

3) Approach: Atlas*
So, now I’m at the whole “Atlas” thing. How does it work exactly? I’m not a programmer, but my guess is, that “build_atlas” builds from materials and icons the whole subfolders in textures/atlas for the resolutions HD, SD and UHD. The game in turn uses those for the game itself, and not the individual icons (dds) in the folder “ingame”. Therefore, in the end the only change with the “icon mod” is, that you actually change those folders??? So, now comes the big question. What if you would pre-render (pre-atlas) an atlas and put it into a mod structure. Would the game then use this atlas for the icons of a map? So far, I can’t make it to work. Can’t even open UHD because of the error “Unsupported DXGI format (98)”. But couldn’t this be a path to the solution?