Inserting Downloaded Units Into Aoe2 DE

So im a beginner modder and i would like to know how to insert some of the units i have downloaded off aok haven, i have already converted them to SMP Files and i would like to know how to actually insert them into the game.

Thanks!

@thieftdp8498 You probably know, how :slightly_smiling_face:

age of empires 2 DE uses smx, the first game uses SMP. need to convert into SMX with all facing angles and use genie editor to insert them.

How do i use genie editor to insert them?

in genie editor, there is a graphic tab. you create graphic entry and tell it which graphic smx file to use etc. then in the units you created, graphic section can choose which graphic entry from graphic tab.

1 Like

Sorry, i am a VERY beginner modder, i do not know how to create a graphic entry and tell it which graphic smx file to use, can you walk me through the steps? When i go to GenieEditor there is nothing in the graphics tab that says “Create graphic entry”

its quite a lot to explain and other new modders can learn too, come to AOK modding on Discord.

I do not want to join a discord server, simply want to know how to insert downloaded units into aoe2 DE, you can explain on here.

1 Like

Yes, it would help any other modders who arrive in this topic with same question :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

think about everytime someone asks a question and I’d have to answer it. you can join discord and ask there and i’ll be glad to help further there.

also I’ve already explain it, you just need to search for the tab and test it yourself. graphics tab show many graphic entries so take a random unit as an example and most of the time copy/paste with some testing will take you far

1 Like