New civlisations for the subcontinent

Rather than having an umbrella civilisation as Indians, I would love to see a variety. Such is the diversity of the great subcontinent. I’m no modder. But I teach history and economics for a living and can definitely contribute ideas for design and language and actual history.

What I intend to do is to get those who can mod and perhaps work together to build a few to start off with.

My suggestions: Tamils, Bengalis, Deccanese

Let’s discuss! :slight_smile:

9 Likes

Oh I’d like to add. In such a scenario, Indians as a civilisation would perhaps need a name change to Hindustanis (I’d welcome other recommendations).

My suggestion will be to add the following civilizations:
*Vijayanagar(Sangama-Kannada)(To represent shaivite hindus of South India region)(rival of Bahamani and Orissa)
*Orissa(Gajapati-Odia)(To represent vaishnavite hindus of East India region)(rival of Vijayanagar Bahamani and Delhi)
*Delhi(Sultanates-Hindavi)(To represent sunni muslims of North Indian Sultanates)(rival of Tatars, Mewar, Orissa, Bahmani)
*Mewar(Rajputs-Rajasthani)(To represent hindus/sikhs of North West India)(rival of Delhi)
*Bahamani(Sultanates-Dakhini)(To represent Shia muslims of South Indian Sultanates)(rival of Vijayanagar, Orissa, Delhi)

5 Likes

Some Nomenclatures:

Vijayanagar
Unique Unit:
Polygar (Horse Rider) (feudal title given to nobilities in south india who mustered troops)
Unique Techs:
City of Victory (stronger villagers) (vijayanagar the city of victory, magnificent city built in hampi)
Arab Horses (stronger cavalry units) (vijayangar often hired mercenaries from western coast from arabs, proved fatal in battle of talikota when some muslim general switched side to opposing deccan sultanates)
Wonder: Brihadeswara Temple/Meenakshi Temple

Orissa
Unique Unit:
Paikaraya (Elephant Mounted Unit) (leader of paika army, gajapatis literally lord of elephants pushed the vijayanagar troops to ramsetu (strait of sri lanka)
Unique Techs: