Teutons changes +ideas

To give myself credit, I’ve been playing this game since I’ve been 5, for 16 years now. I’m normally 1250-1300 elo currently.

Look, the Teutons new bonus is uninteresting. I feel like extra armor has already been done, with the malians pierce armor and the bulgarian bagains tech. Not to mention now they have the best paladins in the game and not in a good way, in a rage quit unbeatable way. If I’m playing a melee oriented civ, I can’t beat teuton paladins. Teutons loose their identity as a infantry civ when everyone fast castles into knights then transitions into paladins.

When I think of Teutons, I think of the word “Heavy”. slow but powerful. I would say that the bulgarians and slavs are the cousins to this play. Infantry, Heavy cav with siege and possible monks. But Slavs and Bulgarians are fun because of their UU that replaces the paladin. Switches up the norm and makes the game interesting. The teutons don’t have a UU heavy cav, they have the paladin, which is FINE, don’t get me wrong.

So balance changes, the paladin with +2 armor is op, it really is. I have lost multiple games I shouldve won because I went melee units. Even Heavy Camels struggle with teuton pals. What I want is a unique bonus that no other civ gets. That’s it. I don’t understand why something else wasn’t tried instead of extra armor, because that feels so uninspired.

Teutons are a slow civ, so having something to balance out the early game that is unique is what I want, I don’t even care about the teutonic knight at this point. I’m not paying twice the cost of a champion for a unit that is slower.

Teutons were crusader mercenary people. The representation of mercenaries would make the most sense from a historical and gameplay perspective.

Ideas:
-each military building built comes garrisoned with a mercenary
-each friendly military building destroyed spawns a mercenary.
-the first unit created from a military building is free.