07-05-2020 | Malfunctioning Mechanics | #101.101.36906.0_4941835

Hi, let me start by saying I’ve been playing aoe2 multiplayer for approximately 10 years already on quite a high level - currently 1v1: 15xx and TG: 23xx rating.
AoC, HD, Voobly, DE - I know them all. I am also familiar with Age of Empires 2 pro scene.
I’m amazed by recent progression of aoe2 and thankful to Definitive Edition team for listening to player base input.

The purpose of this topic is to report to the team of developers about malfunctioning mechanics that exist and appear very often or have a significant impact on overall experience for the players.

Malfunctioning Mechanics section:

1. Clicking foundation of an object that entirely covers the whole tile should be UNEQUIVOCAL.
    For example an object’s foundation that the cursor hovers upon should be always selected after clicking it no matter what surrounds it (e.g. other trees, towers, palisades).
    Please, it’s very important, it adds consistency to the game and reduces ineffective actions which are not caused by mistakes made by players but because of malfunctioning mechanics of the game.
    The attached pictures show how hovering above a chosen tree and then right clicking on its foundation selects a different tree instead.
    1 2

2. It’s way too hard to click units (e.g. builders) behind raising foundation. The foundation that is in a process of construction gains height and covers more and more screen area - covering the units and everything else behind it, making it unnecessarily hard to click anything else. Having to repeatedly click enemy units to actually target them instead of raising foundation is extremely frustrating, so is trying to move your units behind it. It’s basically impossible to right click behind a raising foundation.
    Solution: